Professional Development Awards

Due to the hybrid format of the meeting, OPAM 29 will have five $200 professional development awards in place of travel awards. All OPAM presenters are eligible to be nominated for professional development awards, without regard to whether they will be attending in-person or virtually. In order to be considered for an award, your current advisor or a senior scientist you know well will need to nominate you by October 15. Only OPAM presenters are eligible for awards this year. Decisions will be made without regard to whether the presenters will be attending in person or virtually. If you would like to be nominated for a professional development award, provide your nominator with the following link to our nomination form:


Thank you to everyone who applied for the OPAM 28 Travel Award! 2020’s winning submissions were from the following authors:

  • Andy Jeesu Kim – Texas A&M University
  • Yuri Markov – Higher School of Economics
  • Ryan O’Donnell – Pennsylvania State University
  • Joan Ongchoco – Yale University
  • Melissa Schoenlein – University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Samantha Lee – University of Nevada, Reno

Best Talk and Poster Awards

Information about OPAM 29’s talk and poster awards will be announced later in the year. We are able to recognize the best research presented at OPAM, thanks to the generous sponsorship of Visual Cognition. Every presenter will be automatically eligible for these awards. Throughout the day, presentations will be judged by a panel of Associate and Consulting Editors from the Visual Cognition Editorial Board. We will announce the winners after the keynote address. The Best Talk will receive $300 and the Best Poster will receive $200.

Congratulations to the winners of OPAM 28’s Best Talk and Best Poster! In 2020, the winners were:

  • Best Talk: Alice Towler (UNSW, Sydney, AU), “Multiple routes to face recognition expertise”
  • Best Poster: Michelle Blumberg (Queen’s University, Kingston, CA), “Tracking temporal dynamics of distractors in the context of continuous task performance”